State Benefits and Programs
_____________________________________________

***EDUCATION BENEFIT***

Kansas Hero's Scholarship

The Kansas Hero’s Scholarship Act provides an opportunity for eligible dependents and spouses of certain deceased and disabled public safety officers and military personnel to attend an eligible Kansas postsecondary educational institution without payment of tuition and required fees. The student will be responsible for all other charges associated with the student’s academic program – including books, materials, living costs, etc. Click below for more information.
HERO SCHOLARSHIP

Operation Recognition
The State of Kansas sponsors "Operation Recognition" to honor World War II and Korean era Veterans who left school to join the military and never received a high school diploma.

Operation Recognition

In recognition of their outstanding contribution, The Kansas Commission on Veterans Affairs Office, through a program called "Operation Recognition" for WWII and Korean War Veterans, is working with schools, cities, and service organizations to award Honorary High School Diplomas to qualifying WWII and Korean War Veterans. This is a small, overdue gesture of our society's gratitude for the sacrifice these individuals made in the name of freedom.

Eligibility

  • All "Honorably" Discharged Veterans who served in WWII between September 16, 1940 and December 31, 1946, and Korean War Veterans who served between June 27, 1950 and January 31, 1955, who did not graduate from High School are eligible.
  • Those who have obtained their diploma, but entered service before they could participate in their graduation ceremonies, are also encouraged to apply.
  • Diplomas can be awarded posthumously.

Required Paperwork

  • Application for "WWII and Korean War Veterans" High School Diploma (Operation Recognition Form)
  • Copy of "Honorable" Discharge papers attached to application
  • Discharge papers may be requested through the local County Registrar Office or through Military Archives, 2722 SW Topeka Blvd, Topeka, KS 66611. Requests submitted on Standard Form 180 (1 MB PDF) only. (KANSAS ONLY)
Additional Personal Exemption for Disabled Veterans

During the 2022 Legislative Session House Bill 2239 was passed and signed into law.  Section 40 of the Bill provides an additional personal exemption for disabled Veterans.

Prior to amendment, K.S.A. 79-32,121 provided a personal exemption of $2,250 per qualified individual. New Section 40 of the Bill adds new subsection (b) to the statute to provide an additional exemption for disabled Veterans, effective for tax year 2023 and all tax years thereafter.

The new language states:
(b) In addition to the exemptions provided in subsection (a), any individual who has been honorably discharged from active service in any branch of the armed forces of the United States and who is certified by the United States department of veterans affairs or its successor to be in receipt of disability compensation at the 100% rate, if the disability is permanent and was sustained through military action or accident or resulted from disease contracted while in such active service, such individual shall be allowed an additional Kansas exemption of $2,250 for tax year 2023 and all tax years thereafter.

The additional exemption will be claimed when filing the individual’s Kansas income tax return, beginning with tax year 2023. The Kansas individual income tax return, Form K-40, will be updated.

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE
Additional copies of this notice, forms or publications are available on the below website,
Kansas Department of Revenue.

If you have questions, please contact:
Taxpayer Assistance Center
Kansas Department of Revenue
120 SE 10th Ave, 1st Floor
Topeka, KS 66601-3506

Phone: 785-368-8222
Hearing Impaired TTY: 785-296-6461

Kansas National Guard and Disabled Veterans Hunting/Fishing Licenses, and State Park Permits

To receive free licenses and permits, Kansas guardsmen and Veterans apply to KDWPT's Pratt Operations Office. Depending on the particular licenses and/or state park permits they request, you will be required to submit appropriate documentation.

Application forms for licenses and permits can be downloaded from the Kansas Department of Wildlife and Parks website at Applications and Fees / Hunting / KDWP - KDWP (ksoutdoors.com) Click "Licenses & Permits", under Type of License/Permits click "Hunting Licenses/Permit," then "Download National Guard Hunting, Fishing, and Park Vehicle Permit" or "Download Disabled Veterans Hunting and Fishing License Application".  If in the National Guard, the forms must be signed by the unit commander and mailed to KDWPT with photocopies of appropriate documentation.  You will still be required to purchase any additional "tags" you need for a successful hunt.

Note - if your service connected disability rating is 30% or greater, you may receive a permanent hunting/fishing license by following the directions provided above.  

Military Distinctive License Plates

You may make application for a Kansas distinctive military license plate by meeting the qualifications outlined in the Kansas Statutes Annotated listed below. Applications should be presented to your local County Treasurer's office

Property Tax Relief Claim for Seniors and Disabled Veterans Homestead Refund

Are disabled Veterans or surviving spouses eligible for a Homestead refund?

Yes, disabled Veterans or surviving spouses may submit for a homestead refund. Veterans or surviving spouses must meet the following eligibility criteria -
     a) Kansas resident for the entire previous year,
     b) honorably discharged,
     c) 65 years old or older OR certified to have 50% or greater Service Connected permanent disability rating (for the entire previous year),
     d) surviving spouse until remarried, 
     e) homestead appraised value is $350,000 or less, and
     f) annual income of $53,600 or less.    

Veteran or surviving spouses must submit the Kansas Property Tax Relief Claim for Seniors and Disabled Veterans Homestead Refund Claim (K-40SVR).  For more information visit the Kansas Department of Revenue

Other Benefits
  • Birth/Marriage/Death Certificates - (Free for Veterans when request made through the KCVAO for VA purposes only)
  • State Income Tax - (Military retirement not taxed by state)
  • Education Assistance - (contact your local Veteran Service Representative for details)
  • Vietnam Medallion Application