Who is Eligible?

1. Montgomery - Active Duty (Chapter 30)

Honorably discharged veterans who entered active duty
after 07/01/85 and participated in the pay reduction
program. Also, certain individuals having Vietnam Era
GI Bill® eligibility who meets certain eligibility
criteria may be eligible for the Chapter 30 program
after 12/31/89.

2. Montgomery - Selected Reserves (Chapter
1606 and 1607 (REAP))

Reservists or National Guard Members, who enlisted, re
-enlisted or extended an enlistment in the Selected
Reserve or National Guard for a period of 6 years after
10/01/90. 1607 is payable if reservist meets consecutive
active duty wartime service. Check with VA Office.

3. Dependents Education Assistance Program
(Chapter 35)

A child or spouse of a veteran who died of a service-
connected disability or has a total disability permanent
in nature as a result from a service-connected disability.
4. Veterans Education Assistance Program
(Chapter 32)

Those entering active duty between 01/01/77 and
06/30/85 and contributed toward the VEAP benefit.
Check with VA Office.

5. Post-9/11 (Chapter 33)

Honorably discharged veteran who served at least 90

aggregate days or 30 days and discharged with a service
-connected disability after 09/10/01. Effective 10/01/11.

ALL COMPLETED APPLICATION
FORMS ARE TO BE MAILED TO:
Department of Veterans Affairs

9700 Page Avenue
Suite 101-Education
St. Louis, MO 63132-1502

NOTE: YOU MAY FAX YOUR MONTHLY
CERTIFICATION OF HOURS WORKED TO FISCAL
ACCOUNTS AT (314) 253-4140

Contact Information

WHO TO CONTACT FOR ASSISTANCE

If you have questions concerning your
eligibility, you may contact your local
Veterans Service Representative Office or call
the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs St.
Louis RPO toll free number:

Call at 1-888-442-4551 or
Email at http://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill/

If you have questions concerning the eligibility
of a specific apprenticeship or on-the-job
training program, or to request application
forms please contact:

Brigette Hayes or Lori Thompson

SAA Program Consultants

Kansas Commission on Veterans’ Affairs
Jayhawk Tower, Suite 1004

700 SW Jackson Street

Topeka, KS 66603

Toll Free: 800.513.7731

Phone: 785.291.3422

Fax: 785.296.1462

E-mail: brigette.hayes@ks.gov or
lori.thompson@ks.gov

Website: www.kcva.ks.gov

Please visit the KCVA website
www.kcva.ks.gov for updates on education and
other benefits. Please use our comment form to
ask questions about benefits and services.
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Have you considered using
your G.I. Bill® Benefits for
On-the-Job Training or
Apprenticeship Training?

Veterans
Eligible Dependents
National Guard

Reservists

You may be eligible to receive
a monthly benefit check from the
US Department of Veterans Affairs

SAA Program Consultant
Kansas Commission on Veterans’ Affairs
Jayhawk Tower, Suite 1004
700 SWV Jackson Street
Topeka, KS 66603

Tel (785) 291-3422
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Apprenticeship and
On-the-Job Training

What are the Benefits?

BACKGROUND

Various Public Laws provide for the payment of a
monthly training allowance by the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs (VA) for eligible persons pursuing a full
-time on-the-job or apprenticeship program that is
approved in Kansas by the Kansas State Approving
Agency.

WHAT IS APPRENTICESHIP
TRAINING

Apprenticeship training is on-the-job training coupled
with theoretical related instruction. You receive your
VA benefits while working full time and earning wages.
Apprenticeship programs are normally for two years to
five years in length. Although program registration with
the Department of Labor - Bureau of Apprenticeship and
Training (BAT) and Kansas State Apprenticeship
Council is not mandatory for veteran's benefits, it is
recommended in order to receive journey worker's papers
upon successful completion. Some examples of
approved apprenticeship programs are carpenter,
electrician, plumber, sheet metal worker, fire-medic,
machinist, and roofer.

WHAT IS ON-THE-JOB TRAINING

On-The-Job Training (OJT) is training you receive while
actually performing a job and earning wages, as well as
receiving VA benefits. OJT programs are normally from
six months up to two years in length. Some examples of
approvable OJT programs are welder, painter, cook,
press operator, auto mechanic, and locksmith.

NOTE: THESE ARE NOT INCLUSIVE LISTINGS. THERE
ARE CURRENTLY OVER 900 TRADE AREAS THAT CAN
BE APPROVED.

The rates payable effective 10/01/16 are illustrated
below:

If you are eligible under Chapter 30 (entered active duty
after 07/01/85 and contributed to the Montgomery GI
Bill®), your monthly allowance should be:

For those veterans whose initial obligated period of
active duty was three or more years.

First 6 months $1,392.75
Second 6 months $1,021.35
Remainder of program $649.95

For those veterans whose initial obligated period of
active duty was less than three years.

First 6 months $1,131.75
Second 6 months $829.95
Remaining training $528.15

If you are eligible under the Montgomery GI Bill® -
Selected Reserves (Chapter 1606), your monthly
allowance will be:

First 6 months $276.75
Second 6 months $202.95
Remainder of program $129.15

If you are eligible under Chapter 1607 (REAP), the
amount of the monthly allowance is dependent upon the
amount of consecutive service time (Active Duty) that
you were ordered to wartime duty for.

Service of 2 years+

First 6 months $1,114.20

Second 6 months $817.08

Remaining pursuit $519.96
Service of 1 year +

First 6 months $835.65

Second 6 months $612.81

Remainder of pursuit $389.97

Service of 90 days but less than 1 year
First 6 months $557.80
Second 6 months $408.54
Remainder pursuit of training $259.98

If you are eligible under Chapter 35 (surviving spouse or
child), your monthly allowance, as of

First 6 months $747.00
Second 6 months $561.00
Third 6 months $369.00
Remaining pursuit $188.00

If you were eligible under Chapter 34 (entered active
duty between 02/01/55 and 12/31/76), you may be
eligible to receive benefits under the Chapter 30
program. Contact the VA Regional Office in St. Louis
for more specific information.

If you are eligible under Chapter 33 (Honorably
discharged veteran who served at least 90 aggregate days
or 30 days and discharged with a service-connected
disability after 09/10/01), your monthly allowance
should be:

® OJT/ APP pay based on the housing rate of the employer’s
zip code multiplied by your benefit rating [applicable
monthly housing allowance].

®  100% of the BAH rate for the first 6 months, 80% the next
6 months, 60% the next, 40% the next, then 20% thereafter.

Example at 100% eligibility rate:

City 100% 80%  60%  40% = 20%
Dodge City $1131.00 $904.80 $678.60 $452.40 $226.20
Kansas City $1368.00 $1094.40 $820.80 $547.20 $273.60
Salina $1185.00 $948.00 $711.00 $472.80 $237.00

Example at 60% eligibility rate:

Dodge City $678.60 $542.88 $407.16 $271.44 $135.72
Kansas City $820.80 $656.64 $492.48 $328.32 $164.16
Salina $711.00 $568.80 $426.60 $284.40 $142.20

You may also be eligible for an equipment allowance
of up to $83/month for apprenticeship programs.




